Maine: Employers Must Provide Paid Leave For Any Reason Starting in 2021


Private Employers with 10 or more ME Employees


January 1, 2021


Contact HR On-Call

(888) 378-2456

Governor Mills recently signed LD 369 requiring private employers with 10 or more employees to provide paid leave for any reason. Earned paid leave (EPL) accrues at one hour for every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours in one year of employment. Accrual begins at the start of employment, but taking leave may be restricted until the individual has been employed for 120 days.

Employees must give reasonable notice of their intent to use EPL, unless it is due to emergency, illness, or other sudden necessity. Employers must also maintain employee benefits during the leave period. The Maine Department of Labor is expected to adopt rules to implement the new leave law. Notably, the law does not apply to employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement.

Action Items

  1. Review the bill here.
  2. Implement a paid leave policy by 2021.
  3. Have managers and payroll administrators trained on the new requirements.
  4. Subscribers can call our HR On-Call Hotline at (888) 378-2456 for further assistance.

Disclaimer: This document is designed to provide general information and guidance concerning employment-related issues. It is presented with the understanding that ManagEase is not engaged in rendering any legal opinions. If a legal opinion is needed, please contact the services of your own legal adviser.

© 2019 ManagEase