Contact HR On-Call
- Florida: Voters Approve Measure to Increase Hourly Minimum Wage to $15
- New York: Guidance Issued on Statewide Paid Sick Leave
- Wisconsin: New Notice Requirements for Employee Separations
Florida: Voters Approve Measure to Increase Hourly Minimum Wage to $15
On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved Amendment 2 which calls for the state minimum wage to increase from its current level of $8.56 per hour to $15 by 2026. The minimum wage will increase to $10 per hour by September 2021, and then increase by $1 each year thereafter until it reaches $15 per hour.
New York: Guidance Issued on Statewide Paid Sick Leave
On October 20, 2020, the New York Department of Labor issued its first guidance on complying with New York’s newly effective statewide paid sick leave law, which just went into effect on September 30, 2020. The guidance contains definitions as well as a number of questions and answers covering topics ranging from accruals, permitted usage, eligibility, leave increments, interaction with other leave laws, and more. Employers should review the guidance for clarification on administration of the leave.
Wisconsin: New Notice Requirements for Employee Separations
Effective November 2, 2020, Wisconsin employers must provide separating employees with information about the availability of unemployment insurance benefits. Employers are encouraged to utilize the existing UI poster that is already required. The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) webpage contains the poster and model notice language employers may use.
Disclaimer: This document is designed to provide general information and guidance concerning employment-related issues. It is presented with the understanding that ManagEase is not engaged in rendering any legal opinions. If a legal opinion is needed, please contact the services of your own legal adviser.
© 2020 ManagEase